Special election committee on tobacco control bill to meet next week

The Parliament’s Special Electoral Committee (PSSC) on Tobacco Product Control and the 2022 Tobacco Bill will meet for the first time next week, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said.

Khairy said the meeting he would chair would listen to the views of the 12 members.

“If we refer to the letter from the opposition leader (Anwar Ibrahim) to Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob, they both agree in principle. During the debate, I can say, 95% (MPs) also agree (with the bill).

“It’s just that we need to perfect some provisions, including in terms of enforcement and fines. We can talk about that,” he told reporters after the event in Johor Bahru today.

The government parliamentarians on the committee are Azalina Othman Said (Umno), Abdul Azeez Rahim (Umno), Mohd Nizar Zakaria (Umno), Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Bersatu), Ahmad Fadhil Shaari (PAS) and Lukanisman Awang Sauni (GPS).

The opposition representatives were Mukhriz Mahathir (Fighters), Dzulkifli Ahmad (Amanah), Madius Tangau (Upko), Dr Kelvin Yii Lee Wuen (DAP), Darrell Leiking (Warisan) and R Sivarasa (PKR).

The bill, which was put for first reading in the People’s Council by Khairy on July 27, seeks to bar those born on and after January 1, 2007 from buying or owning cigarettes or vaping products.

It aims to prevent the younger generation from adopting the habit of smoking, and to reduce deaths caused by smoking-related diseases.

Leave a Comment